Hoboken, WNY, and Secaucus students named to Dean’s List

first_imgAlexa Colangelo of Hoboken was among more than 1,600 students who were named to The University of Scranton’s Dean’s List for the 2017 spring semester. The Dean’s List recognizes students for academic excellence. A student must have a grade point average of 3.5 or better with a minimum number of credit hours during the semester to make the Dean’s List.Colangelo is a senior economics major in the University’s College of Arts and Sciences.Several Secaucus students were named too.Jessie Koerner of Secaucus is a senior strategic communication major in the University’s College of Arts and Sciences.Taylor P. Doering of Secaucus is a junior occupational therapy major in the University’s Panuska College of Professional Studies.Hannah L. Narvacan of Secaucus is a senior occupational therapy major in the University’s Panuska College of Professional Studies.Briana C. Jimenez of West New York was also named. Jimenez is a sophomore psychology major in the University’s College of Arts and Sciences. The University of Scranton is a Jesuit university located in Northeastern Pennsylvania.last_img read more

Westin Abbey rings up second Lone Star Tour win at Bells

first_imgWestin Abbey raced to his second $1,000 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature win in three Sniper Speed Lone Star Tour events Monday at Grayson County Speedway. (Photo by Stacy Kolar, Southern Sass Photography) Dean Abbey used a blueprint similar to Wolla’s in the Southern SportMod feature. He’d worked his way from seventh starting and got stuck in second for a long stretch before crossing the line side-by-side with Rodney White with two laps to go. Dean Abbey, George Egbert III and 14th starting Jeffrey Abbey rounded out the top five. Feature Results Westin Abbey swapped second with Powers before making his way to the front on lap 14. He mastered traffic beginning on lap 18, chased to the $1,000 checkers by the 12th starting Jesse Sobbing.  Sunday winner Derek Green was briefly into the runner-up spot following the second of two lap yellow cautions. Modifieds – 1. Jason Wolla; 2. John Gober; 3. Drew Armstrong; 4. Jesse Sobbing; 5. Anthony Roth; 6. Josh McGaha; 7. Clay Money; 8. Brint Hartwick; 9. Jim Thies, Mapleton; 10. Treven Geter; 11. Michael Ables; 12. Ethan Braaksma; 13. Larry Adams; 14. Jim Cole; 15. Shane DeMey; 16. William Gould; 17. Brandon Aggen; 18. Mark Adams; 19. Jon White Jr.; 20. Mike Petersilie. BELLS, Texas (Feb. 17) – Westin Abbey rang up a second Sniper Speed Lone Star Tour feature win Monday night, getting the best of his IMCA Sunoco Stock Car foes at Grayson County Speedway. Abbey had started 10th in the 30-lap, star-filled field at Bells, passed brother Dean for the lead just before halfway and then worked his way through traffic as the race ended with a long green flag run. Ryan Powers led the first six circuits from the pole before giving way to Dean Abbey, fresh off the win in the Smiley’s Racing Products Southern SportMod main. His last-lap IMCA Modified heroics landed Jason Wolla in Grayson County Speedway’s victory lane. (Photo by Stacy Kolar, Southern Sass Photography) Jason Wolla was the $1,000 IMCA Modified winner, putting his name on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot with a last-lap pass of John Gober.  Abbey pulled ahead from that point, collecting the checkers ahead of Rodney White, Mitchell Clement, 12th starting Gregory Muirhead and 15th starting Justin White. Monday’s third installment of the Lone Star Tour drew 70 Stock Car entries from a dozen states, with California newly represented.  The 2017 national champion had chased Gober following an early caution that saw leader and Sunday winner Jon White Jr. exit. Drew Armstrong, Sobbing and Anthony Roth were scored next.  Southern SportMods – 1. Dean Abbey; 2. Rodney White; 3. Mitchell Clement; 4. Gregory Muirhead; 5. Justin White; 6. Jeremy Henry; 7. Brandon Blake; 8. Justin Nabors; 9. Kevin Ward; 10. Ron Hessel; 11. Brantley Beatty; 12. Austen Becerra; 13. Christopher Stewart; 14. Mark Marr; 15. Mark Patterson; 16. Dan Day; 17. Michael McCullough; 18. Mason Day; 19. Matthew Day; 20. Brandon Tharp. Stock Cars – 1. Westin Abbey; 2. Jesse Sobbing; 3. Dean Abbey; 4. George Egbert III; 5. Jeffrey Abbey; 6. Matthew Riskey; 7. Matt Guillaume; 8. Ryan Powers; 9. Chad Schroeder; 10. Eric Rempel; 11. Dean Cornelius; 12. Abe Huls; 13. Jason Batt; 14. Kevin Flock; 15. Kirk Martin; 16. Derek Green; 17. Dan Mackenthun; 18. Curt Lund; 19. Jason Rogers; 20. Hesston Shaw; 21. Dustin White.last_img read more

DNR continues to investigate Floyd County fish kill

first_imgCHARLES CITY — The Iowa Department of Natural Resources says they are continuing to investigate a fish kill earlier this week in Floyd County.The DNR says specialists looked into a fish kill on a tributary of Flood Creek about four miles west of Charles City on Wednesday. On-site field tests did not show elevated ammonia levels and live fish were seen along the affected two-mile stretch of stream, indicating a pollutant had moved downstream.The DNR says although dead fish were reported to another agency on Tuesday afternoon, the DNR did not learn about it until Wednesday.DNR environmental specialist Rachel Glaza says it’s important for people to call the DNR right away when they see dead fish so they can try to determine a cause, but in this case, whatever caused the fish kill had come and gone by the time they started investigating.last_img read more